Difficult Scenario? If You Have Time

Posted: August 14, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Scenario:

Two people are in a dire situation. One is your family member or close friend and the other is a stranger. If your love one is already “near” the point of absolutely cannot be saved (chances are slim to none) and the stranger can be saved 100%, would you at that moment of realization continue trying to save your love one or save the stranger? If you try to save your love one there is a high chance that both will perish. There is also no way you can save both in time. This of course depends on a rational versus an emotional mind-set as most people will be the latter.

Thoughts?

Is it wrong to ignore the stranger and continue saving your love one or is it wrong to continue the nearly inevitable and sacrifice both?

Comments
  1. Michael Rowe says:

    On a purely rational level it’s a no-brainer (for me at least). The stranger is also someone else’s loved one and so saving them will be a positive act in the world. However, on an emotional level I’m not so sure if I’d be able to walk away from my loved one. I tend to think that I’d keep going and potentially lose both. How would I live the rest of my life knowing that I walked away from trying to save someone I loved?

    • jackiewong88 says:

      That’s very true. I expected this to be a no brainer in that sense. What I was trying to get at more was would society and family members and friends be able to accept and forgive someone who would do the opposite? Because I can imagine a lot of ridicule.

      Jackie

Leave a Reply

