Fourth Week Reflection Post: Human Nature Contains No Torture

Posted: August 13, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

After reading a few posts during the Fourth week on the topic of Torture, there seems to be a consensus in regards to the unacceptability of torturous actions. However, during extreme situations in which time is of the essence such as the the bomb situation proposed by Wendy, torturous actions may be necessary to save the greater good.

All the questions proposed by Lisa are highly stimulating because it helps us realize that like any other “grey” topic, there may never even be a “somewhat” correct answer. Thus, balance is always the ideal key. I am not saying this because it is the “easy” way out, I am saying it because I sincerely believe this is the only way for the human race to begin to understand the magnitude of importance in relation to this topic as well as other “grey” topics. Perhaps we should shift from the common sayings “personally… or in my opinion…” to something more holistic like “Worldly… or from a human perspective.” This is of course just an idea and it will probably never happen because we are all free to exercise free will.

Lastly, I also agree with Chantelle’s post about the many innocent “prisoners” who were sentenced to prison for crimes they did not commit. These innocent individuals cannot simply be labelled as “unlucky” because that just an utter excuse. The people who wished torture upon them and contributed to their innocent suffering, should acknowledge that they were wrong and maybe apologize as well. This is the only to move on sincerely. Because most people hate being “wrong,” we must realize that to “acknowledge wrong” takes much more courage than ignoring it.

“When will our reflection show who we are inside?” – Mulan (changed slightly) haha. 🙂

 

Comments
  1. Michael Rowe says:

    I like your point about being able to acknowledge that we’re wrong takes more courage than ignoring it. I’ve come across this many times as a teacher, where I’ve realised (or it’s been pointed out to me) that something I’ve said or shown students has been wrong. When I was just starting out, it was incredibly difficult for me to disempower myself and make myself vulnerable by acknowledging to the students that I’d made a mistake. However, as I grew in confidence and experience, I came to see how much the students appreciated the fact that they could trust that I would always place their learning above my own pride. Also, by acknowledging that we can be wrong, we make ourselves human’s who are capable of mistakes. This then allows the students the space to also make mistakes, which is where learning happens.

    I know that this comment is a bit off topic, but that’s what I love about this course. Your post has made me think about my own practice in a different way. Thanks for that.

    • jackiewong88 says:

      Exactly Michael! The idea of courage and strength radiates when we are in a vulnerable state. Then as you said, your practice will expand. 🙂

      P.S. I agree with you that being off topic is probably one of the unique ways to learn.

      • Michael Rowe says:

        It’s especially hard to do for students when it’s the lecturers who are deciding the topics. Same for patients who might want to do something different, but it’s the therapists who are deciding the course of treatment.

      • jackiewong88 says:

        That’s true. I learned that “what makes sense should promoted and the evidence comes after.” But I understand that there are rules and policies. I have also had personal experience with doctors and therapists where I would suggest things but it would inevitably be in their hands or ignored.

        Jackie

  2. Wendy Walker says:

    To continue the off-topic conversation, I have had quite a few occasions when the patient requests a treatment which both my learning and my clinical experience suggest will not be appropriate/effective (although also not in any way detrimental), and if my preferred modalities have not achieved sufficient change within the session to convince the patient that this may be an effective treatment then I ask them to monitor their problem until the next session, promising that if there is still no improvement, at that point we will consider using the modality they favour. On the odd occasion when my 1st treatment has not brought about any demonstrable improvement, then I incorporate their chosen method into the session, and the 2nd has then generally been successful. Placebo? Maybe so, in which case I am always more than happy to harness the patient’s own resources. Or maybe not, in which case I might have been wrong (despite RCT evidence to support my view) in which case I’ve learnt something new which I can apply to other patients with a similar problem.
    Clearly, Jackie, your interesting post has started some discussion…

    • jackiewong88 says:

      Hey Wendy, I completely agree with you. Since there are so many sometimes very “specific” problems in Physiotherapy, the approach cannot be always be the common procedure. Instead, it must be “pragmatical” because once all the normal procedures are exhausted, there are only two things you can do: Try something new but makes sense or refer to another health professional.

      Innovation can only come from what makes sense but yet to have support.

      Jackie

Leave a Reply

