About me

Posted: June 25, 2013 in Uncategorized

Hey, I am Jackie Wong and I am a recent graduate from the University of British Columbia with a degree in Kinesiology. I registered for this course because I wish to learn more about the Physiotherapy profession. I have always been fascinated and appreciative of Physiotherapists because of the knowledge and skills that they have and use to help people. More specifically, by the end of this course I hope to gain more understanding about how to interact with patients with integrity and in their best interest. I am both realistic and idealistic meaning things that I wish would change for the better will always be in my mind but I understand goals need to be achieved step by step. Some of the most important aspects that I wish all healthcare professionals would improve on and maintain are interpersonal connection, empathy, and compassion towards their patients.

A little personal side:

I used to enjoy martial arts, tennis, snowboarding, various other sports but now I have stopped several of these activities.Β For 3-4 years, I have been dealing with chronic and debilitating foot problems such as metatarsalgia, tendonitis/tendonosis, peroneal tendon subluxation, and other issues. Therefore, I wish to pursue a career in Physiotherapy and educate people on how to prevent and treat acute and chronic issues that are growing immensely all around the world.

Comments
  1. Rachael Lowe says:

    Hi Jackie, welcome to the professional ethics course. We hope that you enjoy the course!

  2. Hi Jackie, I am your fellow course attendee, Chantelle, a physio from South Africa. It’s nice to meet you and I really like the blog theme you chose. Chat soon πŸ™‚

    • jackiewong88 says:

      Hey Chantelle! Thanks! At first I chose a theme called “Oxygen” but it was so ugh and thought this “Greyzed” theme gives more of an old and antique vibe haha.I hope to become a physio too! πŸ™‚ but apparently UBC only looks at GPA but I hope they take into consideration practical outside work and Volunteer work because I think that makes more sense.

      P.S. your passage by Benjamin Button is awesome.

      Looking forward to the chats πŸ™‚

  3. sheilamarie says:

    Hi! I am Sheila, your co-participant in the online ethics course. You posted some interesting videos there. Looking forward to viewing more. πŸ˜‰

    • jackiewong88 says:

      Hey Sheila! Nice to meet you! Yeah I hope the concepts in these videos can spread around the world because most of these are just fundamentals we have forgotten or deem unnecessary in our daily lives. I will definitely post more related videos. πŸ™‚ “We are as old as our spine. If we don’t move then one day we won’t be able to and that will be a very bad day.” – Ido Portal

  4. Wendy Walker says:

    Hello Jackie,
    It’s good to have someone with a different viewpoint on the Ethics course.
    I enjoyed watching the videos you posted, and will certainly be using some of the test movements with my patients in the next few days.
    Wendy (UK physio)

    • jackiewong88 says:

      Hey Wendy! Nice to meet you. Glad you enjoyed the videos. Yeah I just want to help spread some of these perspectives. I believe the information and tests is extremely valuable in promoting more effective and efficient treatment and management or even better prevention.

    • jackiewong88 says:

      Hey Wendy, I forgot to mention, can you let me know how the movement tests work with your patients? πŸ™‚ Because I would love to know if it was helpful!

  5. noameitan says:

    Hi Jackie,
    Nice to “meet” you. you have got a great blog and very interesting videos. Your last sentence on healthcare professionals is so true and I think you are own your way to become a great therapist.
    Step by step you will gain your goals. The last couple of months in my life taught me that everything is possible you just have to be passionate and work hard to achieve your goals.
    Good luck, we will chat again soon
    Noam

    • jackiewong88 says:

      Hey Noam, nice to meet you! Yeah I hope the information in the videos can bring us back to the roots of movement we all once possessed as a child. A baby has a natural and perfect squat but as we age we get busy and forget its fundamental importance. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the encouragement! I hope my passion is enough because my grades not so much haha. The application process is the tough part.

  6. maryc08 says:

    Hey Jackie, nice to meet you online in class lol. I hope you read my post so you know who I am. Anyway, I’m with you on regaining movement range and function, I have a knee injury that’s been pretty persistent and obstructive. Hope you get to become a physio and I will be sure to give you business! LOL…. — Mary

Leave a Reply

